The committee created to propose rules for Oregon’s medical marijuana dispensary program debated everything from testing and security requirements to licensing fees today.
Under the regulatory framework the committee is considering, medical marijuana dispensaries would have to:
– Pay $4,000 annually for a business license
– Keep an archive of video surveillance stretching back 30 days
– Have alarm systems, use commercial-grade locks and develop concrete security policies and train employees on those policies
– Meet various requirements for storing medical marijuana
Committee members debated potential testing regulations but did not finalize any proposals in this area. The group is also tackling the contentious issue of whether cities should be allowed to implement dispensary bans.
In general, the Oregon dispensary program will most likely resemble those in states like Colorado, which have strict laws in place. But the proposed fee is much lower than in some of these states, meaning it could be cheaper to start a dispensary in Oregon than in other regulated MMJ markets.
The committee will meet at least one more time before issuing final recommendations by the end of the year. Oregon then hopes to begin taking applications for dispensary licenses in March.