New York MMJ Regs: $200,000 Licensing Fee, Strain Limit

Medical cannabis companies hoping to operate in New York will have to jump through several regulatory hoops and pay a hefty sum under regulations issued by the state.

Businesses seeking to become one of five companies that will be allowed to operate up to four dispensaries each must pay a $10,000 application fee. They also must submit a $200,000 check for the actual license, though that will be refunded if the application is denied.

If approved, the license would be valid for two years, according to the regulations. Businesses would lose their permit if they don’t start operations within six months of approval.

Each cultivator would be allowed to grow only five strains, which advocates say will limit income for businesses and put undue stress on the industry, making it difficult for the program to move forward.

Under New York’s MMJ law, dispensaries will be able to sell certain types of infused products but not smokeable cannabis. It’s still unclear on whether edibles will be allowed.

The regulations will be published at the end of December and then will be subject to a 45-day comment period.

Companies will be required to provide a host of information about their manufacturing, transportation, security, distribution and sales plans.

Daily News | Briefs | Cultivation | Dispensary/Retail Store Business News | New York Medical Cannabis Business & Marijuana Legal News

 1 Comment

  1. Jahpharmer December 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Comments are moderated by our editors who do their best to approve comments ASAP. As Marijuana Business Daily is focused on business, we approve comments that are specifically relevant to industry professionals. General opinions and questions about cannabis may not be posted.