Arkansas governor announces MMJ commission

Just Released! Get realistic market forecasts, state-by-state insights and benchmarks with the new 2024 MJBiz Factbook member program, now with quarterly updates. Make informed decisions.

Arkansas has unveiled the five members of its new Medical Marijuana Commission, which will administer and oversee the licensing of dispensaries and cultivators under the state’s new MMJ program.

The group – selected by the governor and state lawmakers – is a mixture of health and legal experts, according to the Arkansas Times.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson used his one allotted appointment to select Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman, a breast cancer surgeon and professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Service.

Speaker of the House Jeremy Gillam selected attorney Travis Story and Dr. Stephen Carroll, a pharmacist.

Senate President Pro Tem Jonathan Dismang tapped James Miller, former chief of staff for the senate with experience in government rules and regulations, and Dr. Carlos Roman, a pain management specialist.

Hutchinson noted in his announcement that he had been opposed to the medical marijuana initiative that passed in November but promised to honor the wishes of the people and carry out the law. Voters approved a law that would allow patients with a fairly broad list of ailments to receive medical cannabis.

Arkansas MMJ industry watchers were paying close attention to the appointment of this commission, which will begin accepting license applications in June.