First Arkansas town approves medical marijuana regulations

The first municipality in Arkansas has granted formal approval to local rules that will govern medical marijuana companies that operate within its borders, setting the stage for the rest of the state to follow suit.

Texarkana’s board of directors on Monday approved business license fees for dispensaries and medical cannabis growers, TV station KSLA reported.

Growers must pony up $50,000 for a business permit, while dispensaries will have to pay an initial $7,500 and then $11,000 for yearly license renewals, according to the Shreveport, Louisiana TV station.

Texarkana’s city manager told KSLA that dispensaries could be operational within city limits before the end of 2017.

The board also approved new zoning ordinances establishing that MMJ companies are allowed to conduct business within Texarkana’s borders.

Texarkana, located in the southwestern corner of Arkansas, has a population of 30,000, though another 37,000 technically reside just over the state line in Texas, where marijuana remains illegal.

It could prove to be an interesting situation.

Texarkana, Texas, police say they won’t recognize Arkansas’ MMJ law, which could lead to arrests for cannabis possession of Arkansans who cross the state line, the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette reported.

Daily News | Arkansas Medical Cannabis Business & Marijuana Legal News | Briefs | Dispensary/Retail Store Business News | Legal & Regulatory News for Marijuana Businesses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Comments are moderated by our editors who do their best to approve comments ASAP. As Marijuana Business Daily is focused on business, we approve comments that are specifically relevant to industry professionals. General opinions and questions about cannabis may not be posted.