Here’s Who Stands to Control Ohio’s Cannabis Cultivation Industry

Just Released! Get realistic market forecasts, state-by-state insights and benchmarks with the new 2024 MJBiz Factbook member program, now with quarterly updates. Make informed decisions.

If Ohio voters legalize medical and recreational marijuana next month, a handful of wealthy investors who contributed to the campaign will get control of the 10 cultivation sites allowed under the initiative.

While some of the names of these investors have been public knowledge for months, a new report by provides the most comprehensive list yet.

Twenty individuals stand to gain control of the state’s cannabis cultivation industry, including several who don’t even live in Ohio.

The full list of investors who will own the 10 sites if the measure passes, courtesy of

Licking County site – Dr. Suresh Gupta and Alan Mooney, principal of Mooney Wealth Advisory.

Hamilton County siteWilliam Foster, owner of A-1 Quality Logistical Solutions; Arizona Cardinals player Frostee Rucker; and former American National Basketball Association star Oscar Robertson.

Lorain County site – Bobby George, executive with Corporate Management Group.

Clermont County site – Frank Wood, CEO of Secret Communications.

Lucas County site – David Bastos, partner in Capital Investment Group.

Delaware County siteJennifer Doering, general manager of Chas. Seligman Distributing Co., in Kentucky.

Summit County siteWilliam “Cheney” Pruett, CEO of DMP Investments, in Texas; John Humphreys, chief financial officer of DMP Investments; and singer/restaurateur Nick Lachey.

Butler County site – Fashion designer Nanette Lapore; philanthropist Barbara Gould; Paul Heldman, former executive with Kroger Co.; financier Woody Taft; and musician Dudley Taft Jr.

Franklin County site – Rick Kirk, CEO of Hallmark Campus Communities.

• Stark County site – Ben Kovler, who runs a Chicago-based investment fund; and Peter Kadens, a Chicago entrepreneur in the solar energy industry.