Ohio drops medical marijuana card fee to 1 cent, halves processor license cost

Just Released! Get realistic market forecasts, state-by-state insights and benchmarks with the new 2024 MJBiz Factbook member program, now with quarterly updates. Make informed decisions.


Ohio regulators have reduced the fee to obtain medical marijuana patient cards or caregiver cards to 1 cent, a move that could increase business for MMJ dispensaries in the state.

The new fee kicks in March 4, Cincinnati TV station WCPO reported.

The 1 cent fee applies to both new card applicants and renewals, according to the TV station.

The Ohio Division of Cannabis Control (DCC) also has submitted a proposal to eliminate the MMJ patient and caregiver card fees altogether.

The proposal went to Ohio’s Common Sense Initiative, a state program that reviews and changes rules that affect businesses in the state.

Currently, the fees are $50 for patient cards and $25 for caregiver cards, according to WCPO.

The DCC also has asked the Common Sense Initiative to reduce the processor license renewal fee from $100,000 to $50,000.

“The DCC believes that reducing the processor renewal fee by half will continue to help fund the cost of administering the program, while providing a more proportional fee schedule,” the agency said.

The agency’s moves to expand Ohio’s MMJ program comes as the state’s efforts to launch a recreational marijuana program have stalled in the Legislature.

However, the director of the Ohio Cannabis Control said he plans to issue adult-use businesses licenses on Sept. 7 at the latest if infighting continues among lawmakers.