Officials in Nevada are adamant they will not miss an important April 1 deadline tied to the state’s medical marijuana dispensary program.
Marla McDade Williams, deputy administrator of the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, said in a statement that the division is “on track to meet the deadline for adoption of the regulations” that will govern the state’s medical cannabis industry.
The statement followed reports that Nevada would be unable to issue certificates to medical marijuana business owners on April 1. McDade Williams acknowledged this is true, but said the original deadline was simply for the adoption of the new rules, not the issuing of certificates.
Nevada passed a law in 2013 that authorizes up to 40 dispensaries in Clark County, 10 in Washoe County, two in Carson City and one in each of Nevada’s 14 rural counties.
Not everyone is pleased with the law, though. Some lawyers say that a rule requiring cannabis dispensaries to submit to an annual audit could cost between $25,000 to $50,000 each year per business.